Project 4: Montage

 

CarissaSimons-P4Montage-fire

Description:

A motivation montage made by blending three images and use of typography.

Process:

I first decided on a color scheme and thought of using the texture of fire. After I thought and sketched some designs, I found a picture of a lion with its mouth open to the side. In Photoshop I placed the flame picture as a background. For the lion picture, I first used levels and vibrance to make the color of the lion stand out more. I then placed the image of the lion on top of the flames and put the linear light layer to blind the lion into the flames. I really liked the effect this layer had on the lions face. I noticed that the bright flame canceled out the lions fangs, so I used the clone stamp tool to make the black area in the flames to set on the fangs of the lions mouth to bring out the fang more. I then continued to mask the lion to blend into the flames. Next I added in the picture of the girls profile. I lined up the noses of both the girl and the lion. For the girl, I put the linear light layer so she could be blended in as well. I decided to use a delicate font type to show that fears don’t always have to be faced with boldness. Sometimes you can face fear with delicacy. I liked the white color for the words to contrast the black background.

Message:

I wanted to convey that fears could be faced. It is motivation to face any kind of fear in a classy way. Also, any fear should not make a person feel intimidated.

Audience:

Anyone who needs a motivation boost to face things going on in their life.

Top Thing Learned:

I learned how to use Photoshop even more than before. I love how there are so many different options using layers and masks. The possibilities are endless in creativity using montage methods and conveying messages.

Filter / Colorization used and where it was applied:

Fire background-clone stamp to move black area to enhance lion fangs. Lion- Levels and vibrancy to bring out the fur, mask layer to blend into fire, and linear light to really blend the lion in. Girl- Linear light layer to blend her into the fire as well as masking layer to only leave her face in the flames.

Color scheme and color names:

Analogous- yellow, gold, orange

Title Font Name & Category:

Century Schoolbook- Oldstyle

Copy Font Name & Category:

None

Thumbnails of Images used:

fire  1654473  Profile

  • Sources (Links to images on original websites / with title of site):

Fire- http://fc07.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2010/350/6/4/fire_in_the_hole_by_oaken_shield-d34q31w.jpg

Lion- http://pichost.me/1654473/

Girl- http://digital-art-gallery.com/oid/52/r169_457x256_10003_Profile_2d_portrait_girl_woman_picture_image_digital_art.jpg

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nmouille
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 05:34:35

    I love yours! It is amazing! I love the message and the way it is blended. Great idea! I love how you used the flame and the black to make the message stick out. I love how only a portion of the face is showing. At first you might think that fear was the flame but them you look closer and see the other images.

    Reply

  2. laurengold93
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 19:05:24

    I love this poster. I just stared at it for a while and really loved everything about it. The blending is awesome. I think that the color scheme is great too, the fire is vibrant and keeps my attention. I loved message too, it was simple but very moving. Check out my blog http://laurengold93.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. rlargent
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 03:06:45

    I’m really glad I chose your blog to comment on. Your montage is my favorite thus far!!! How did you come up with this? It’s really creative and simply ingenious.

    Project 4 Montage

    Project 4 – Montage

    Reply

    • sim09007
      Jun 04, 2014 @ 04:58:56

      Thanks, I really wanted to use a lion in my design and I just started thinking of different things I could do with that photo. I’m glad it turned out.

      Reply

  4. Nate
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 03:34:19

    Wow that is really cool. Also by the way I like your blog too. I love how you used the three pictures and masked them. It makes for a cool little overall idea. The negative space looks great as well. If you get a chance here is my designhttp://comm130byui.wordpress.com/category/design/.

    Reply

  5. smas14
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 05:45:52

    Dude! You are so awesome, Simons! I really like it!! The color, the emotions. I like that you feel the heat from the fire and tiger but the girl is just chill. I like the emotions! I LOVE where you put you text. I love the white space. Way to go!!!

    here is mine, angel! brazilianchica.wordpress.com

    Peace!

    Reply

  6. smas14
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 05:55:57

    here is the link of a classmate http://denvernay.wordpress.com/2014/05/31/project-4-montage/comment-page-1/#comment-8

    he’s cool! and it is on missionary work

    Reply

Leave a comment